Another Guy Scammed in Beijing

14 Nov

Andy is a nice guy from Australia who currently lives in China.

I guess, however, that he regrets now not to be the reader of my blog 😉 .

Otherwise – after reading about the “classic” Beijing tea scam , he wouldn’t fall a victim to the same line

As for the second scam that happened to him on the same unlucky day – well… nothing is new in this world.

One guy already made the whole videotutorial on this topic.

Here is the relevant part (it’s loading slowly – so pause and wait for a while before playing again):

http://www.youtube.com/v/POLWh9XMu9I&hl=en&fs=1

 

4 Responses to “Another Guy Scammed in Beijing”

  1. Andy Irwin November 15, 2010 at 3:19 am #

    Hey Crystal, you sure are right, I wish I’d read your blog first!

    Honestly, I was (most unusually) completely unprepared for coming to China and hadn’t made any research into scams or things to beware of. Obviously, that was a big mistake!

    Even though I understand the motives of the people who do the scams, it really is a shame that they exist. One bad experience can change the way you view all Chinese people and it took me almost a whole week before I started to enjoy China and trust the Chinese again.

    In Shanghai two more people tried to scam me, another teahouse scam and another, a middle aged man who pretended that his luggage was stolen and he needed money. He carried a briefcase and even though we stood in front of the subway station, after I refused him money which he needed for hotel/subway, he then left in the opposite direction without speaking to ANY Chinese people to ask for help. For some reason, even though he is from Beijing, he must only ask foreigners for money? Scam!!!

    Thanks for checking out my blog!

  2. crystaltao November 15, 2010 at 4:52 am #

    I am happy that your faith in people was restored.
    Wish that from now on your experience in China would be mostly positive 🙂

    • Andy Irwin November 16, 2010 at 7:19 am #

      Thanks Crystal,

      Check out my latest post, http://munkybrains.com/asia/china-asia/stories-shanghai/

      I talk about two more scams at the bottom of it, one was the Shanghai version of the teahouse scam (which I obviously didn’t fall for) and another was a middle-aged man trying a very poor and obvious scam.

      I did meet another guy though at the hostel in Hangzhou who was scammed in Shanghai only 3 days ago with a teahouse scam. He got off lightly, only 200RMB but still, he felt like I did. Wounded pride and angry at all Chinese people, unable to trust them. He felt better after I told him about my similar (but much worse) experience.

      I like your blog, keep up the good work and interesting articles!

      • crystaltao November 17, 2010 at 9:28 pm #

        Yeah, 200 RMB is just a fair price for the anti-scam lesson 🙂

Leave a Reply

